The sommelier’s mistake

Photo Prompt: Copyright Marie Gail Stratford

The sommelier wiped a stray hair away with his right hand. “Now madam, may I suggest that with the braised beef cheeks you try the ’97 Beaujolais. A light-bodied red, I think you will find the fruity acidity surprising.”

The napkin flicked out with a right-handed flourish, billowing out flat before floating to rest on the unpleasant customer’s lap. His mind wandered, remembering her annoying complaints on previous choices.

Dead silence.

He quickly unclenched his left hand from her throat. She pitched face-first into her food.

He had made a rookie error.

He hadn’t allowed the whine to breathe.

 


(Word Count: 99)

My second Friday Fictioneer’s photo challenge from Rochelle’s blog (this link will take you to all the submitted stories). Unlike last week, I made sure I avoided reading any of the other stories until I had posted this one. Last week I read a few, and then struggled to think of anything other than ‘salt’ as a story idea! So, this one I did clean; untainted by the ideas of others.

That said, it was tough getting an idea that I liked. Nonetheless, I am actually really happy with how it came out. Interested to hear what you think.

Did you like it? Was it terrible? Do I need new puns? Let me know in the comments.

Cheers

KT

28 thoughts on “The sommelier’s mistake

  1. Of course puns are terrible, that’s why we use them.
    I also refrain from reading anyone else’s submission before I compose my own. If you’re like me, you get the centipede’s dilemma, which foot do I start off with??!
    Rich and full, with a back taste of sarcasm. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Centipedes dilemma – I like that, I’ll have to use it 🙂

      I was amused with the two posts that landed in my reader one after another – Yours with ‘spaceship’ that turned out to be a pub, and Kirizar’s which seemed to be a ‘pub’ that turned out to be a Spaceship. 🙂

      Thanks for reading 🙂

      Like

  2. Dear WildBilbo,

    Hey! September 22nd was your namesake’s birthday. Sorry I missed it.

    This story was a brilliant play on words, perfectly set up. Laughingly knocked down. I loved the punchline and so to will every sommelier that ever gets a chance to read it. I wonder of there is a blog or two on the subject of wine that you could submit it to. Well done. Still laughing here.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Blake – I wondered if using the ‘right hand’ twice in the beginning made it a bit clunky, but I wanted to hint that the left was occupied 🙂

      Thanks for reading
      KT

      Like

Leave a Reply

