Food for thought

 

Copyright-Kent Bonham

Copyright-Kent Bonham

“Who bloody cares what it is, can you make them eat it?

Defence-man shouted to be heard over the room of Michelin chefs, café cooks and greasy fry-monkeys. Months of the population living in bunkers avoiding radiation had stretched food sources to their limits. In desperation, some… innovative solutions had been derived by their scientists. Innovative, nutritional… repugnant.

Some laughed, most simply got up to leave. This was a waste of time. They were doomed.

“I can do it.” A voice from the back. Recognisable. Famous.

Defence-man bowed his head, relieved. They were saved.

“God bless you Heston. God bless.”


(100 Words)

Ah, a Rochelle’s Friday Fictioneers Challenge… and this was a challenge indeed. I have no idea what is in this picture, but when I saw it I thought it looked like the worlds most disgusting lollypop. Then I wondered who would make something like that, and who would be inclined to eat it.

It was a short leap from this line of thinking to where I ended up.

I hope you enjoy it and let me know what you think in the comments.

14 thoughts on “Food for thought

  1. Dear KT,

    All the Americans are going to think that Heston is Charlton Heston and the repugnant inedible creation is some new version of Soylent. I had a feeling that Heston would end up being a notable chef. I loved this story and agree with the commenter that told you to send a copy to Heston. Well done, sir.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

