Distant relations

“The boat’s not coming back.”

“Okay, so what do we do now?”

She raised a carefully manicured eyebrow. “Do? What do we ‘do’? I don’t know what you expect we can ‘do’, except stand here, and we are, as you might say, ‘doing it’.”

“Great. The attitude is helping. Well done.” He watched the waters sullenly as they frothed and churned around the narrow structure. Dark humanoid shadows, twisted, leathery shapes moved under the surface, keeping the grim expanse in constant motion. Occasionally one of the things would break the surface with a flipper, a fin, or a foot, releasing a rank odour that would linger in the nostrils.

An hour passed in relative silence, the sun sinking lower as the tide slowly crept higher. They sat at the opposite ends of the piling, the water starting to slap against the horizontal beam.

“Really, this is all your fault, when you get down to it.”

“WHAT!” he exploded, “You were the one who wanted to elope by boat! ‘Lets not have a big wedding, lets elope, it’ll be romantic’. Remember that, huh?”

“I only said that because I knew you didn’t want to have to invite my family. You hate spending time with my parents.”

“I have, Ah!… I have never said that.” He rapidly snatched his hand back from the cold water, briefly catching a glint of ivory white fangs.

“You don’t need to say it, I know it. You hate my parents, you hate my family, and you never want to spend time with them!”

He looked into the murky water, and saw huge, black, fish eyes staring back. Full of a bitter, mother-in-law’s disappointment.

He sighed, “Looks like I wont have a choice, will I?”


Another Jacopo #PopQuizHotShot. Let me know what you think in the comments.

 

 

Leave a Reply

