Event Horizon

 

Some places have their own gravity. A pull so strong that escape is impossible; time slows, light is trapped. No matter how you try to get away, you remain tethered, stretching out from this point like a string, always pulled inwards.

Those who are trapped by these places, things appears normal, as everything is travelling in the same direction.

Those on the outside can only see darkness.


A quick ‘end of lunch’ post – because its gaming night tonight. A response to the Five Sentence Fiction challenge by Lillie McFerrin.

This prompt was ‘Horizon’, which my nerdy mind immediately associated with the concept of an event horizon that exists for black holes. I then took this on a slightly metaphorical journey, as some places, homes, memories have their own ‘pull’ or ‘gravity’, that try as we might we cannot leave behind. These ‘black holes’ capture us just as readily.

I should say that unlike I have implied in this piece of fiction, I think that escape is possible – but never easy.

Let me know what you think in the comments!

 

8 thoughts on “Event Horizon

  1. I would just like to say, wildbilbo, (I like that name) that if you can take just a simple prompt like “Horizon”, and only the rules of five sentences…and make something that beautiful and that metaphorical out of it….you need no worries about writers block.
    I love this.
    That is all.
    -CC

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the kind words 🙂

    I’ll admit its amazing how quickly writers block goes away when you should be working! I was trying to get some stuff done this morning, and the idea hit me, and then… bang – 5 sentences.

    Cheers and thanks for reading
    KT

    Like

Leave a Reply

