Pages of scribbles: Musing on progress (so far)

Copyright - K R Thoroughgood

Copyright – K R Thoroughgood

So, here we are (again).

My fifty-fifth blog entry. Not a bad number considering this blog is only two months old (give or take).

I thought I might do a quick look back – a progress check in to see where I’ve gone, compared to where I expected to be when I started this with my first post.


In your intro you said your life was awesome. Is it still awesome?

I said no such thing, you’re putting words in my mouth! Oh wait, I did write that…hmmm… well I do know that I have stopped feeling dissatisfied. The writing – the blog, trialling out the short stories, the (little) work I’m getting done on the novel… its all contributing to a deep sense of satisfaction in what I’m doing with my life. So far as a creative outlet, I would say it has been very successful (again, recognising its only two months in).

The blog is an excellent location to experiment – with styles, with structures, with themes and with genres. And the blogging community is an excellent sounding board – supportive, occasionally critical, always constructive.

That said, the blog is a distraction – its tough to do a blog post, and get any progress on the novel or the short stories. I’m… not entirely bothered by this. Blogging is writing, blogging is practice, and I feel I am improving. I need to keep an eye on this of course, at some point I need to get my ass back on the book, but for now, I’m happy with how this is going.

What else did I talk about… ah yes, the excess weight. Again, this is going way better than I expected at this stage – I have lost just over eleven kilos (twenty-four pound I think) since August 7. The fitness App is a great prompt, and easy enough to manage.

Other things… well work progresses ok, my kids are still the light of my life, the wife is still awesome and my dog… ah. Farewell Clarke. You are still missed. I should thank all the commenters who left kind words after poor Clarke passed on, every bit of support really helped.

You’re blogging a lot of horror and flash fiction. Did you expect that?

Well the aim was to blog to practice writing and I left myself a pretty broad scope on what I was going to write about. I had already done a few flash fiction pieces under the Jacopo della Quercia ‘Pop Quizzes’ on Twitter, and the contests set out by Chuck Wendig on his Terrible Minds Blog, but in addition to these I have found some others that I enjoy a lot – Rochelle’s Friday Fictioneers and Lillie’s Five Sentence Fiction. Apart from excellent practice, a real benefit of these flash fiction challenges is the great community behind them – if you put your story out there, it will get read. If you then read and comment on others, and its a great little feedback loop.

I also started doing my ‘Musing’ articles – which cover everything from a moderately in depth analysis of Role-Playing Games and horror (my longest post yet) to personal matters and thoughts (like this one on my first experience of writers block). I enjoy doing these posts, they allow me to speak more directly to my followers in my own voice, which is almost relaxing – on that, I am genuinely amazed at how quickly the number of blog followers has gone up – if you follow me, thank you!

So how have you found the comments?

Maybe its a factor of the blogging community, but the comments have all been lovely – very positive, very encouraging. As I said earlier, any critical comments I have received have always been backed up with well thought out suggestions for change or improvement. Lets just say the well mannered and well thought out comments I have been seeing make writing a blog post a highlight of my day. Everyone likes a ‘like’, but I love a comment – its a conversation, a brief engagement with someone, who bothered to read the stuff I have given to the world.


So now a few more questions for you:

  • Is there any post you particularly liked? Why?
  • What about disliked? Anything you thought was awful? Let me know so I can rethink the sequel!
  • Is there anything I haven’t done, or touched on that you think I should? I’ve had brief thoughts about a book or literary magazine review… would this be interesting?

Cheers, and again, thanks for reading.

KT

3 thoughts on “Pages of scribbles: Musing on progress (so far)

  1. Fifty plus posts in two months! I’m impressed! Hm… I’ll have to take another look through your stories regarding the sequels question. I do like it when a writer goes back to an earlier story and take it a bit further. It’s a good exercise for the writer and I think readers enjoy learning more. I’ve written several flash fictions that I think might be worth a sequel. I think you should pick one you particularly like and expand on it. Who knows? Perhaps you might consider periodically updating one story on your blog – a series of flash fictions strung together over period of months.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

