I ought to be thy Adam…

PHOTO PROMPT – Copyright – Jean L. Hays

PHOTO PROMPT – Copyright – Jean L. Hays

“What’s that Frank?” The old farmer stared at the yellow-brown monstrosity, bleary eyes squinting.

Frank looked up, wiping greasy hands. “Nice, right? Jus’ need a decent chassis and y’can make all sorts of changes. Whaddya reckon?”

A grey eyebrow raised, dubious. “What is it?”

Frank’s smile broadened. “Art mate. I’m a fuckin’ artist.”

“Ok then… I guess.”

“Carn inside y’ old bastard, lets grab some coldies.” Frank ushered the old man into his house.

A single blow laid him out, unconscious.

Frank analytically ran his hands over the farmer’s body. Old, but solid .

“Yep. Jus’ need a decent chassis.”


(Word Count 100)

Another Rochelle #FridayFictioneers 100 word challenge. I had fun with this one, both with the concept and playing with the ‘Straylian’ dialogue. For the unfamiliar:

  • whaddya – what do you
  • carn – come on
  • coldies – cold beers
  • Straylian – Australian

Let me know what you think in the comments!

Also, click here to read other stories!

Cheers

KT

For those curious about the title, it is part of a quote from Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein. The whole quote reads:

Remember, that I am thy creature; I ought to be thy Adam; but I am rather the fallen angel, whom thou drivest from joy for no misdeed. Everywhere I see bliss, from which I alone am irrevocably excluded.

 

27 thoughts on “I ought to be thy Adam…

  1. Nice complexity. I missed the line where he knocked him out cold, so it threw me the first time I read it. But, I really got it when you posted the Shelley postscript. It does show how far language has come (or fallen) since Mary Shelley’s day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

