Fractured

photo credit: Alejandro Hernandez. via photopin cc

photo credit: Alejandro Hernandez. via photopin cc

My mind is brok-

-en, fractured imaginings, thoughts reflect-

-ed, refracted.

Focus fluid, swept aw-

-ay, lost in a swirling tempest of-

-distraction, procrasti-

-nation.

I smash against-

– your presence, a stone in the rampage, solid, steady, reliable.

A limpet I cling to you-

-protecting me from the worst of- 

-the storm, preventing me from drowning-

 -from shattering, fracturing further.

I covet your-

-peace. 


Ahem. I’m sure it will surprise no-one that poetry is not something I… ‘do’. I can and do enjoy reading it occasionally, but I have no real desire to create poems myself. For some reason however, this ‘Five Sentence Fiction’ prompt inspired a poem, and once it was conceived, I couldn’t think of any other idea.

So I present it, in all its experimental structure and angst-ridden glory.

Each week Lillie McFerrin will post a one word inspiration, then anyone wishing to participate should write a five sentence story based on the prompt word. The word does not have to appear in the five sentences –  it is only direction.

This week’s prompt was envy.

Click here to read the other stories.

Cheers and thanks for reading.

KT

 

Lillie McFerrin Writes

 

23 thoughts on “Fractured

    1. …I do refrain from accepting awards (although this is my first nomination, I had seen them about, and turned my mind to the possibility), but please – no apologies are required, its a lovely thought, and one I am sincerely flattered by.

      I love the sense of community that blogging brings, and I don’t have any particular objection to these awards, but at this early stage in my blogging, I think it is not really my thing.

      Your comments, your likes, and most importantly the fact you bother to read something I have written… that’s award enough for me. 🙂

      Thanks
      KT

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you KRS 🙂
      Poetry is well outide my comfort zone, which means i really dont know how to judge it – particularly my own. Guven this blog is all about practice, maybe i should do more to stretch out…

      Thanks for reading.
      KT

      Like

      1. Many thanks. Glad I have just discovered your site. I originally started my blog with the intention of providing a platform for short fiction, stumbled upon an on line community of poets, but have had difficulty finding writers of fiction so, thanks again.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

