Betrayal of trust

Silent misery fills my eyes, tinsel tracks of tears glitter on my cheeks. I can’t breathe, I can’t move; my youthful faith has burst, a glass bauble shattered on a cold hearth. Betrayal, that wintery violator of confidence, freezes my trust, freezes my very capacity to trust.

A garland of lies has decorated my most cherished moments; beloved memories were simply gifts of deception.

Santa Claus is just Daddy in a suit!


Just having some seasonal flash fiction fun with the latest Five Sentence Fiction from Lillie McFerrin’s Blog. The prompt word was ‘Trust’ and I thought I might just take a look at ‘that moment’ – the instant where a child realises their parents have lied to them for the last five-to-eight years…

Click here for the other stories.

Let me know what you thought 🙂

Cheers

KT

 

 

3 thoughts on “Betrayal of trust

Leave a Reply

