Sour grapes on the road

Route 66

PHOTO PROMPT – © Copyright Jean L. Hays

I curse the back of his fat, well-read head as we trudge. Balding, sunburnt, coated in Oklahoma dust, I hate that fathead like I hate the miles I have trudged behind it.

A car approaches and fathead enthusiastically extends his thumb; I cover my eyes and mouth. He chokes on dust as it passes.

Fathead planned it; a glorious road trip in grand American literary tradition.

But ‘On The Road’ lied.

No one picks up hitchhikers.

There are no odd jobs.

No drugs.

No sex.

Fathead promised me Kerouac’s Route 66… yet here I trudge through Steinbeck’s instead.


(Word count 100)

My Friday Fictioneers 100 word challenge, courtesy of Rochelle Wisoff-Fields’s Addicted To Purple blog. The challenge is to write a 100 word story based in some way off the photo prompt (on this occasion provided by Jean L. Hays). I broke my own rule and read one or two other blogs stories this week – methinks the idea of road trip will be a common one :).

Click this link for all this weeks stories.

I think this week’s post should stand on its own, but it does assume some pre-reading:

Both involve travel across America via Route 66, but the experiences of the travellers differs significantly.

Let me know what you think!

Cheers

KT

 

 

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Sour grapes on the road

  1. Dear KT,

    Great use of contrasting visions to tell your tale. You may want to use a comma after the seventh word of your first paragraph. Your call. Nice rhythm throughout and a satisfying conclusion.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear KT,

    I like the way you hinted at Grapes of Wrath in your title. You have me wondering who on earth Fathead is. He doesn’t sound like a nice person. Or could this be written in the petulant voice of a teenager? Just a thought.
    Interesting story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Rochelle, thanks – I wanted to leave a hint of both influences in the title, so Im glad you picked it up 🙂
      As for fathead, ultimately how they are viewed is up to the reader. But I envisaged the narrator as being mad at their friend (fathead) who convinced them of the awesome Kerouac inspired holiday, when the reality has turned out significantly different to expectations.

      So our narrator is definitely petulant, disgruntled, and bitter. As disappointment sets in, I see cracks in the friendship widening.

      Cheers and thanks for reading.
      KT

      Like

  3. I love the title and literary references. I wonder why he ended up with fathead, a very funny name that made me chuckle throughout. Was it the promise of sex and drugs, because it doesn’t sound like it was friendship, or maybe it’s because they have been together too long. That can be hard on the best of friends! Great story, KT!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

