Bride of Sol

photo credit: Furumaru via photopin cc

photo credit: Furumaru via photopin cc

With the great engraved doors closing and isolating her in the vast Temple of Sol, the bride stood with her eyes cast down, submissive, docile. Dutiful, faithful, she awaited her wedding and her death; she awaited the inferno of God; she awaited her joining with the morning sun.

She awaited her groom.

A small hidden door opened soundlessly, and looking up she saw the stinking holy man, naked and chuckling; a broad flat-bladed gold dagger in one hand, his manhood in the other.

She looked around the room, and on seeing the skulls of previous brides she understood; there would be no holy inferno, no rising morning sun, no meaningful sacrifice for the betterment of her tribe… her groom, her death, had arrived.


Oh goodness… I am shattered. Kids woke up at an ungodly hour in the morning, and I’ve been struggling all day. So this little post is a quick (and a little dark) Five Sentence Fiction story using the prompt ‘Offering’ from Lillie McFerrin Writes blog. As Lillie says on her blog:

Five Sentence Fiction is about packing a powerful punch in a tiny fist. Each week I will post a one word inspiration, then anyone wishing to participate will write a five sentence story based on the prompt word.

Five sentences is a whole different story to the 100 words challenge – with no word limit, there is a temptation to write sentences that go on, and on, and on, and just when you think they are finished; BANG – semicolon. Keeping the sentences manageable and readable is really quite difficult.

Click here for all the stories.

Well this is all the writing for me today, I got over my 5000 words this week, and I need the sleep!

Let me know what you think in the comments. I’m happy with criticisms as well as positive things, so feel free to be honest.

Cheers

KT

23 thoughts on “Bride of Sol

    1. Whilst the dropping of the Sani is regrettable, I accept no legal responsibility for any loss or damage that may or may not be caused by reference to ‘holy manhoods’, stinky or otherwise.

      Thanks for reading 🙂
      Cheers
      KT

      Liked by 1 person

    1. haha – no-one is completely innocent 🙂 I HAD to point out the semicolon abuse because I used 4 of them in this piece alone!

      And it would suck indeed to be a sacrificial bride – I did some research on Aztec sacrificial practices, and whilst there were no brides, the human sacrifice practice was staggeringly brutal.

      Cheers
      KT

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Most ritual sacrifices are. I count myself lucky to grow up in an era where it is unlikely to hear of so much as a lamb being sacrificed.

        I think I used 3 or 4 semicolons myself; not even caring if they were correctly used or not…

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Roger – appreciate the kind words 🙂
      Sacrifices demanded by gods – any god – never make sense to me; why would any all powerful being need proof of faith, if they can know every thought, see into the very heart of their subjects?

      That said, I completely agree – there is a lot of excellent meat for stories on those archaeological theories 🙂
      Thanks for reading
      KT

      Like

    1. Hi Lisa, thanks for the very kind words. I write these with no specific intent to revisit… But i do like this scene a lot & the bad guy seems to be very (un)popular, so if i get a good idea, I might expand her story a bit 🙂
      Cheers
      KT

      Like

Leave a Reply

