The scale of a deed

photo credit: skulls via photopin (license)

photo credit: skulls via photopin (license)

I cannot be judged by the likes of you; you are too small, a mere prop, insignificant on this stage of glory. You call me villainous but your vision is too narrow, your comprehension too limited to appreciate the full scope of this work.

The scale of a deed alters the repercussions for having done it; an act of massive effect acquires a gravity that bends consequence around it. The line between fame and infamy blurs at such lofty heights, books will disagree, scholars will argue.

My actions today will the sound the very bell of history, a ring to resonate through time such that your children’s and your children’s children’s ears will be deafened by it’s toll.


 

What it’s all about: Five Sentence Fiction is about packing a powerful punch in a tiny fist. Each week I will post a one word inspiration, then anyone wishing to participate will write a five sentence story based on the prompt word. – Lillie McFerrin

A darker one for todays Five Sentence Fiction where the prompt word was ‘Villainous’. I struggled to come up with a response that I was happy with; the idea of a moustache twirling villain stuck in my head but refused to suggest anything original.  In the end, I was very influenced by the following quote:

Kill one man, and you are a murderer. Kill millions of men, and you are a conqueror. Kill them all, and you are a god. – Jean Rostand, Thoughts of a Biologist, 1938.

The rest of the stories can be found by clicking here.

Let me know what you think!

Cheers

KT

 

10 thoughts on “The scale of a deed

  1. Is that a threat?

    Some questions I was left with: Who is the narrator, and who is the narrator speaking to?
    For someone who is so far above the person they are threatening, they sure waste a lot of breath on them.

    What happens right after this scene?
    In my imagination, a swift, anti-climactic blow to the speaker’s head, and down he goes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, the problems of an anonymous speaker!

      To be honest, I don’t know. When I originally wrote it, I structured it like poetry (broken up in to 5 ‘mini-verses’), but it didn’t really work, and looked terrible. So it morphed into this disturbing little speech showing the speaker as psychopath with potentially genocidal aspirations.

      If I had to conjecture what happens next… I suspect the speaker simply walks away having too much power to be threatened by our listener who is left to simply watch the act unfold. I see the speaker as a powerful villain, a Khan from Star Trek etc. How much of that I got across in 5 sentences of course… 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think my point was that Khan saved his speeches for a worthy adversary. He was a lot of bluster, because he truly believed he was better, but he saved his speeches for someone who mattered (if only because Kirk had displayed he would try to stop him).

        Who the speaker is speaking to might help you exploit specific emotions, and might give us a better clue as to what’s going on, by only changing a few words here and there. Just a thought!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I think you might be right – although is it the anonymity of the speaker, or the identity of the listener that matters here… I shall chew this over for the future!

        Thanks for the thoughtful comments. 🙂
        Cheers
        KT

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Love, love the last line, “My actions today will the sound the very bell of history, a ring to resonate through time such that your children’s and your children’s children’s ears will be deafened by it’s toll.” Powerful. Well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am totally ‘Less’. Breathless. Speechless. And brainless by comparison. I am also “ous” – envious, covetous and feeling cretinous. On the upside…I have learned the word ‘crapulous’ and it sounds like a state that is appropriate to my sentiments.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Is this one of those situations where ‘less’ is ‘more’? 😀

      On another note – I’m very glad your house didn’t burn down when reading, that would have been entirely too Ray Bradbury-ish ending for a book lover to endure.

      Thanks for reading!
      Cheers
      KT

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

