Entrance; exit

photo credit: prism burst via photopin (license)

photo credit: prism burst via photopin (license)

The lights spark and sparkle, split and swirl; multiplying like amoeba and collapsing like stars, they dance for me – just for me.

You are asleep you are asleep now tell me what you see; says the voice, tiny and remote;  stay close stay very close to this room you are safe in this room and tell me what you see tell me what you see

I laugh and the stars laugh with me; the very idea of explaining the chaos of random creation and destruction, the birth and death of galaxies occurring before my eyes was ludicrous, laughable.

Stay close stay with us come back you are safe here its time now wake up now its time to WAKE UP WAKE UP WAKE UP

I ignore the voice as it dwindles to behind me, my consciousness races forward in the company of the dancing lights and I dance too; I am awake, finally, fully.


Ok, been hitting some old-school Science Fiction novels recently, and this has definitely inspired this story. This is my entry to the 5SF challenge this week where the prompt word was ‘Entrance’.

Beyond the consciousness expanding sci-fi influences, I also played with the various meanings of the homograph word ‘entrance’:

  • Entrance meaning an opening to a new place – in this piece the entrance is to a new consciousness, a new awareness.
  • Entrance meaning to hypnotise, or to fill with delight or enrapture.

What is Five Sentence Fiction?

What it’s all about: Five Sentence Fiction is about packing a powerful punch in a tiny fist. Each week I will post a one word inspiration, then anyone wishing to participate will write a five sentence story based on the prompt word. – Lillie McFerrin

The rest of the stories can be found by clicking this link.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Entrance; exit

Leave a Reply

