Object (im)permanence

Beach

Photo Courtesy of RTVisions

 

Our time together is a poem scrawled on the beach; meaning is temporary, passion is passing.

We are words writ large in the sand, fearing the ocean.

I stare, trying to lock you in my world, afraid you will cease to exist if I cannot see you.

My eyes are watering.

I stare, but I cannot hold back the tide.


 

Five Sentence Fiction

What it’s all about: Five Sentence Fiction is about packing a powerful punch in a tiny fist. Each week I will post a one word inspiration, then anyone wishing to participate will write a five sentence story based on the prompt word.

This week’s word: DEPARTURE

A poem this week – in honour of poetry month (in the US and Canada – here in Australia I think it’s July?). This is probably not a complete story, but I dunno… I thought why the hell not.

Let me know what you think.

The rest of the stories 5SF stories are here.

8 thoughts on “Object (im)permanence

    1. Hi Amy – thanks 🙂

      5 sentence fiction is great – its short like the 100 word challenge, but the different limitation stretches different writing muscles.

      I find In the 100 word limit Friday Fictioneers, you tend to get pushed towards shorter sentences and more of them. In 5SF I find you tend to be trying stuff more and more into each sentence without making them bloated.

      Like

  1. Lovely!

    There’s a Bradbury short story you might enjoy about the fleeting nature of beauty. It’s the tale of an old man who, with the aid of a stick, draws beautiful pictures in the sand. The tide comes in and washes them away…

    The old man was Picasso.

    I wish I recalled the title of the story; but, as you can see, the gist of it has stayed with me always. Your lovely short story reminded me of this favorite tale.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

