The load does not lighten

PHOTO PROMPT – © C. Hase

The grey devoured everything; the ashen sea bled into a stone sky, one steel day bled into another. Every day endless, seamless, pointless.

Hopeless.

She ached from the weight of her chains; husband, children, career. Each a grinding fetter of expectation and duty. Like these rocks, life seemed treacherous; slippery and brutally sharp beneath feet that felt raw. She walked to the edge, looking into the swirling water. Cold, deep, colourless. Attractive. She slipped beneath the grey, awaiting release from burden.

The grey surrounded her, invaded her. Became her. Grey was all she would ever be.

But the chains remained.


Word Count: 100

A depressing visit to Friday Fictioneers this week.

If this is your first visit to my blog, Friday Fictioneers (hosted by Rochelle over at Addicted to Purple)- where the challenge is to write a story in 100 words or less, inspired by a weekly photo prompt. If you want to check out the other stories, or submit your own, click ‘here‘. This week’s photo is provided by C.Hase.

Come to think of it, I’ve never figured out how the photos are chosen or submitted. I’ll have to ask someday.

Anyway, let me know what you think of it – does it make sense?

Cheers

KT

 

29 thoughts on “The load does not lighten

    1. Thanks Tracey – I’ve mentioned my brush with mild depression before, so when I wrote this I tried extending this far beyond what I’d actually experienced.
      Thanks for reading 🙂
      KT

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Dawn 🙂
      I thought your comment ‘counting your blessings’ was interesting too, as I deliberately phrased her chains and burdens as things that most people would consider their blessings – family, career. I wanted to repaint these positives as negatives to show the dark twisting influence depression has.
      Cheers and thanks for reading.
      KT

      Liked by 1 person

  1. One of the bloggers I follow who suffers from depression always tells her readers: depression lies. And it is true, what today looks like a blessing becomes a burden when depression has you in its grasp. It helps to remember that these feelings are lies, it helps to personalize the disease in order to fight it. Finding the truth can sometimes get you out again, depending on how severe the illness is. A great story, it feels heavy, hopeless, grey, which is what you wanted.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well written portrayal of someone feeling the weight of the world to the point where taking their life is an option.
    I loved the three “…less” words and then “Hopeless” straight afterwards on a line by itself. Very good!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a gripping portrait of despair. Very clever reversals of life’s blessings into burdens, as you explained in a comment. I noticed this as I read. Very evocative use of colourlessness too.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. First off, your title drew me right in. Her feelings of hopelessness practically seep off the page, er, I mean screen. I wish she and so many others like her could find a better solution to their unhappiness.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

