Carpathian Camping and Second-hand Sleeping Bags

PHOTO PROMPT – © Kent Bonham

“How much?”

The tourist irritated Camelia. Shamelessly flouncing in front of her sons, exciting them. Rubbing against her boyfriend, practically masturbating him in Camelia’s store. Holding her nose, as if she smelled dung instead of garlic.

“Fifteen.”

“Cheap,” the boyfriend was disdainful. “What’s wrong with them?”

Camelia pointed at the sleeping-bags. “Stains.”

“Gross. Was this shit?”

“No.” Camelia was honest; if not exactly forthcoming

A bargain was reached. Equipment, plus local directions to the Carpathian ruins.

Camelia watched them leave.

“Head out morning, after the Strigoi are finished with them” she instructed her sons. “Grab the bags, wash them again.”


 

100 Words

This was a tough one this week Rochelle – I saw this two days ago, and had literally zero ideas until today!

Anyway for those new to joining us, this is Friday Fictioneers, where the aim is to write a 100 word story with a beginning, middle, and end. I’m interested to see if people understand this one – Ive left lots to the imagination this week…  If it helps:

Let me know if you think it makes sense, what you think this is about – or is it too obscure?

Check this link for the other stories and to contribute your own.

Cheers

KT

27 thoughts on “Carpathian Camping and Second-hand Sleeping Bags

  1. You know what? I don’t even feel sorry for them. Some people just have it coming.
    (P.s. Thanks for the links to the Carpathians and the Strigoi….though I was happy to know I already knew what the Strigoi were!)
    Great story.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Great story! I like the re-use of the sleeping bags. Waste not, want not!

    I didn’t realise “Strigoi” were an actual thing (well, mythological thing anyway). I thought you were doing some Vampire Academy fan fiction until I read your link (obviously I’d like to state for the record that I’ve neither read Vampire Academy nor watched the film heh heh).

    Liked by 1 person

  3. KT,
    This prompt was a bit of a struggle for me too, but at least one of us overcame that struggle beautifully. I like your tale. It brings to mind the novel The Historian, which is what first peaked my own interest in vampire lore. Nicely done. You manage to leave the horror in the story while keeping the action understated. No small task.

    All my best,
    MG

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Why waste a perfectly good sleeping bag when you can wash it? Ha! Oh, I didn’t know of the Strigoi. Very cool story, masterfully done. Thanks for the links. (I didn’t even see the garlic in this picture, either!)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Well, that’s one way to make a profit. I don’t think I want to go camping in the Carpathians. No wonder those sleeping bags are stained. Yuck. 😦 Good imaginative story, KT, and thanks for the links. Well done. 🙂 — Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Lovely, absolutely lovely. Although, I had a problem with your pronouns in this section, “The tourist irritated Camelia. Shamelessly flouncing in front of her sons, exciting them. Rubbing against her boyfriend, practically masturbating him in Camelia’s store.”

    Doing what to WHO’S boyfriend? Camelia’s or the tourists? And who’s sons are those? Usually, pronouns refer to the most recent (relevant) noun.

    The ending was swift and strong, well done.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

