Overdressed

PHOTO PROMPT – © Madison Woods

“I feel ridiculous,” she says, wriggling in the red plastic.

“Why?”

She shakes laughing, diamond earrings sparkling in neon. I smile, amazed. Thirty years and her dusty chuckle still tingles my spine.

“I just feel… a trifle overdressed for McDonalds?”

I’m momentarily dismayed by the years behind us and I see double. Her in Levi’s and school books; her in Yves Saint Laurent and client files. Grey hairs, wrinkles, bifocals. Thousands of tiny changes I’ve watched happen.

The images overlap across three decades as she fishes out the pickle, flicking it at me with a grin.

Some things never change.


100 words

Time for some Friday Fictioneers, and this week’s prompt was a challenge for me. I kept going this idea of a date, with one party clearly overdressed  (much like our fabulous green moth friend is there).

Anyway, let me know what you think 🙂

Click here to read the other stories or to submit your own!

Cheers

KT

.

19 thoughts on “Overdressed

  1. KT,
    I like these tender stories of yours. I struggled over “Her in” which is grammatically correct as in “I see her in” but it was awkward. I also know that we have to sacrifice words in flash fiction so I don’t have a better way to say it unless you combined those two sentences and added “I see or I remember her in ”
    Regardless. I like it.
    Tracey

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Tracey:) – first, I appreciate the crit; I’ll revisit the sentence & consider your comments. Second- I like the softer ones too, they don’t come often, but they’re nice when they turn up 🙂

      Like

  2. Love this. So sweet and you could tell exactly what was going through the story teller’s mind as they relived their life together. Plus, I always take off my pickles. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Dear KT,

    It seems that we had companion pieces this week. One note, the first sentence, ‘she said’ is past tense where it seems the rest of the story is in the present. Aside from that, very sweet story about how love can last and grow over time.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

