The page no longer blank: One Year Of Blogging

Blank Page, Empty Mind

Blank Page, Empty Mind

Here we are.

My first post.

No wait, my one-hundred-and-eighty-first post.

Damn.

One year of blogging.

I don’t really know what to say here and so I’ll keep it short. I’m aware that people don’t come here for personal details about me. 

I’ve written a lot of stuff…but not as much as I would have liked to. I’ve lost some weight…but not as much as I would have liked to. I’ve planned and written a little of my novel…but…5000 words a week? Hardly. So some goals met, some missed, some missed by miles.

Sigh. 

I’m 40. My wife and kids are increasingly awesome, and increasingly tiring. I’m still overweight, but not quite as fat as I was last year (I’ve lost about 9-10 kilos). I’m still unfinished with the novel, but further into my book than I was this time last year (80 pages of scenes and plot planned and 6000 words written). And statistically:

  • 180 posts (181 with this one).
  • 8,577 views
  • 3,485 visitors
  • 276 followers

I wanted to improve my writing. I feel my writing has improved significantly from my earlier posts, and I feel like my writing is still improving. I’m enjoying the flash fiction challenges, and I’m enjoying the book blogging. I’m particularly enjoying the regular interactions with other bloggers, be they fiction bloggers, book bloggers or other. I’d like to thank everyone who follows, and everyone who comments, and everyone who likes, shares or otherwise interacts – you make this enjoyable and worthwhile.

One year of WordPress has been loads of fun, and my main goal – dealing with ennui, with a lack of a creative outlet – has been well and truly dealt with.

All up… I consider that so far its a win.

Feel free to disagree in the comments if you’d like. 🙂

Cheers

KT

7 thoughts on “The page no longer blank: One Year Of Blogging

Leave a Reply

