Christmas & The Joy of Book Recommendations

A quick post today:

Daily word count 412

Total Word Count 7,550

I’ve officially reached the uncomfortable to breathe stage of holiday overeating. Gah. Blerg.

Got my words down anyway.

Also had a bit of a win with the book recommendations – I loaned my copy of The Three Body Problem by Cixin Liu to my father-in-law, a man who I would describe as a ‘lapsed sci-fi reader’; in that he’s done a lot of Asimov etc in his day, but who tells me he hasn’t finished a novel now for years. Thrilled to say he’s almost at the end of Dark Forest and has already lined up Death’s End.

There is a deep satisfaction in successfully recommending a book to a friend and having them enjoy it. It’s partially the joy of bonding over a book talk (always awesome), but it’s also a kind of gifting; a sharing of something awesome that isn’t expected to be reciprocated.

The really very warm feeling I got from successfully recommending these books was distinctly Christmassy, a feeling of generosity and goodwill.

I’d also had a few beers, so that might be part of it.

Tell me – do you enjoy recommending books to friends and family? How do you feel when they agree? How does it feel if they hate one of your beloved books instead?

Cheers all

KT

Leave a Reply

