Blue sky writing

Today’s writing was tough. Rambling. I felt I wrote some good lines, but in all seriousness I think it was on irrelevant stuff that did not progress the story much.

Why?

Because today I reached the limit of my current formal plan. Today was the first day of ‘blue sky writing’. No, I didn’t write my 350 words via a plane dropping lengthy chemtrails over a confused populace – by ‘blue sky’ I mean ‘unrestricted’ and ‘derived creatively’. I know where I want the story to go, but I don’t have a strict structure in place to achieve it.

I know lots of people write this way (Stephen King famously doesn’t plot his stories beforehand), but I suspect this will not work for me in the long run. I felt this unstructured writing was unproductive. It took longer and it really didn’t really progress the story.

I think I need to sit down and plot out the next few scenes quickly, otherwise I run the risk of wasting time on writing stuff around the story and not the story itself, just because I don’t know where to go.

My current plot is started on scapple –  I guess I better head there now to get things moving in the right direction again. 🙂

Daily word count: 350 (I didn’t do more because I felt I was wasting time and effort)

Total word count: 8,850.

Today’s soundtrack:

Cheers all

KT

 

2 thoughts on “Blue sky writing

Leave a Reply

