Comedic stylings

Currently reading this book on the bus:

cheeky-money-close-up

Early in, and it’s interesting. It’s far more like a text book than I expected, and as such it is not meant to be ridiculously funny (it’s a book about comedy, not a comedy book) – I find that reassuring, as it gives an impression that writing comedy could be a learned skill, not a talent one is born with.

Now, I like to think that I am a funny person – although I suspect that is true of most people. But I have always tended to shy away from writing comedy as it seems to put more pressure on me than writing seriously. Whilst I’m not planning any comedy novels just yet (one thing at a time), I would like to see how it’s done.

For now, I’ve been trying to work on a few jokes on Twitter, just to see how they get received. I’ll post a few below, feel free to let me know what you think (including telling me to keep my day job).

*looks back over these tweets*

…I’ll keep reading.


Daily word count: 510 (35o daily + 160 catch up)

Catch up remaining: 888

Total word count: 16,614

Daily soundtrack:

One thought on “Comedic stylings

Leave a Reply

