Planning to fail (or something like that)

Super short update today – and posting before I write anything. Why? Because I’m not writing anything today.

Or tomorrow.

Or for the next week.

It’s no secret I’ve been a little frustrated with the writing process recently. So looking for a distraction on twitter I responded to a tweet by an author (Kate Elliot) I follow…

I suspect I came off a bit down about the whole thing (possibly for a reason…). Regardless the very friendly advice (FYI – it’s awesome when authors and creators reach out to their audience, and I always appreciate the effort and time) inspired me a bit, and I spent the rest of the bus trip thinking about what my real barrier was.

I concluded that my main issue is I don’t know where to go. My writing feels aimless. I’ve got some broad ideas, but I’m not sure how to make the link from one part to another. And (like the last time I found my self at the limits of my plans), I’ve found myself frustrated.

So time to plan. I’m going to sit down with Scapple, with Scrivener, with post it notes and paper, and I’m going to try and belt out a structure to this story. For a week.

Then at the end of the week (starting next Monday), I’ll head back in and start writing again.

That’s the plan anyway.

I’m not sure if I’ll blog over this period – if I do, they will either be very brief updates on how the planning is going, or possibly non-writing related.

So, off to plan!

Cheers

KT

Oh yeah, soundtrack…I had a hankering for some oldschool tunes the other day, and remembered an awesome mixed artist album called Sharks Patrol These Waters Best of Volume Part 2 – unfortunately there is no music list on youtube…yet. So, I’m building one, and I will post it once it’s done.

Anyway, here’s a great song from that album:

 

4 thoughts on “Planning to fail (or something like that)

  1. I don’t know. The title of this post is a little misleading. I think your actions show you’re planning to succeed. It takes courage to pause, evaluate and plan, rather than pushing on through or giving up. I’m learning lessons on how I should improve my writing behaviour, so thank you, and good luck with all those post-its.

    Like

    1. Thanks Sarah Ann – Don’t read too much into my blog titles, I have a terrible habit of using puns or cliche references to attract attention. This was a reference to the ‘Fail to plan, plan to fail’ proverb, and really related to how I started this writing project – I jumped in, and started with a broad idea but no map. Now I’ve found myself wandering in the suburbs without really knowing how to get to the next step.

      Last night I spent an hour staring at blank peice of paper – but after hour two, I had filled it with notes, rough actions and bits of character motivation. It’s happening slowly, but I think this planning break will be worthwhile.

      Thanks for the support too – it really does help!

      KT

      Like

    1. Cheers Roger, as someone who has always been comfortable in their little zone of achievement, stepping outside it has been difficult.

      I forget where I saw it, but I’m trying to live by this motto: The only real failure is when you decide to stop trying.

      Good luck with your writing and here’s to failing again!
      KT

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

